Cook County Cacophony

People never cease to amaze me.

Case in point. From the Chicago Sun-Times:

“Cook County Commissioner William Beavers, a South Side and suburban Democrat, isn’t the only one refusing to take the 10 days off without pay that he and the rest of the County Board unanimously agreed to when they passed the 2011 budget.

Last week, Beavers told the Sun-Times the pay cut was illegal — citing the state Constitution, which says sitting elected officials can’t have their salaries boosted or docked — and now Commissioner Earlean Collins is standing with him.”

Oooookaaaay …..

Please continue.

” ‘I wrote a letter, saying ‘I do not wish to have my salary cut,’” Collins said during Tuesday’s regular County Board meeting, referring to a letter she penned to county government officials.

Collins, a Democrat who represents the west side and western suburbs, said her office sacrificed a lot when commissioners OKed another budget measure this year that gave each commissioners equal district office budgets of $360,000, which covers commissioners and staff pay and other expenses; in 2010, Collins had the second highest district office budget at $421,489.

For one Collins staffer, that meant a $15,000 pay cut before the 10 days without pay, she said.”

I get it: No one likes having their salaries cut. What gets me about this is these folks have jobs, unlike yours truly here. They have benefits–both healthcare and a pension. They have a place to go to every day, a purpose. Yet, they still bitch about it. Of course, they have a right to, but what really gets my knickers in a twist about this is we pay their salaries–they’re elected officials, see. So, in my opinion, they have no right to bitch, moan and whine about pay cuts–especially when the U.S. unemployment rate is hovering around 10 percent.

It gets better.

” ‘It’s unfair where they can get no overtime — to ask them to take $15,000, $10,000, $5,000 cuts and take 10 more days out of their pay. That is not equitable, and I will not sit by and take my cut because I know this board nor the president can cut my salary,” said Collins, who like other commissioners earn $85,000 annually.

Collins is sounding a different tune from February when discussed the proposal.

“Can I give up 10 days? Yes. Absolutely,” Collins said Feb. 24, just two days before the final budget was OKed.

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, who championed the five furlough days and five shutdown days without pay as a way to close a nearly $500 million hole in the $3 billion county budget, responded to Collins during Tuesday’s meeting: “I haven’t asked any one commissioner to do something that I haven’t done myself.”

“I’ve taken the shut down and furlough days as I’ve asked everyone else,” Preckwinkle said.”

WAIT A SECOND… Did I read that correctly? Collins originally agreed with taking a pay cut and now she’s backtracking? Sounds like the current crop of GOP contenders for President. She’s acting more like a Republican (and some Democrats) with her actions–saying one thing and doing another. It’ll be interesting if she follows in her fellow pols’ footsteps by chastising those who want to do follow in her footsteps.

Read…

“Most of the 23,000 employees were asked to take the ten days without pay: five furlough days and five government shut-down days. The aim was to save $29 million by the end of the fiscal year, Nov. 30. By the end of August, $16.2 million savings had been achieved, Kurt Summers, Preckwinkle’s chief of staff, said after the meeting.

“What kind of message do we send to the 23,000-plus employees that everybody has to take cuts and furlough days except the county commissioners and their staffs,” Commissioner Tim Schneider, a northwest suburban Republican, said during Tuesday’s meeting. “I think it’s the wrong message to send. I think we have to have shared sacrifice, we have to lead by example,” he said, noting that he and his staff are taking the unpaid time off.”

I like Toni Preckwinkle–I voted for her. She’s smart, savvy and so far hasn’t take any crap. She’s perfect for Cook County, has a huge mess to clean up and is doing her best to fix it all. She has some smart commissioners working with her too–John Fritchey and Larry Suffredin–to name a couple.

But, the tone that William Beavers and Earlean Collins have taken is annoying and ignorant–considering they both make a good salary. Yes, I am sensitive about this because of my job-free situation, and take issue with those who bitch about their jobs in front of me (or in the media). Obviously, they’re just not paying attention to what is actually happening in this country, and should have their sensitivity chip recalibrated, or have one put in. Yes.. yes… I know that no one has the perfect job and I’ve whined about my past jobs. Aaaaaand, I’m sure I’ll find something to bitch about when (noticed how I didn’t say IF–I’m cautiously optimistic) I finally land a job.

I’m not surprised at William Beavers, however. He is, after all, partially responsible for unleashing Todd Stroger on Cook County, among other things. Ahh…Cook County. I doubt any other county in this country is as colorful and corrupt as Cook. *So proud*

And finally ….

“The discussion was prompted by a new report Preckwinkle commissioned to gauge who was complying with the five furlough days and five shut-down days approved as part of the 2011 budget package. She sent a letter last week to the commissioners thanking those who had complied and pointing the finger at those who hadn’t.

But on Tuesday, Cook County Commissioner John Fritchey chastised the administration for inaccuracies in the report, prompting Preckwinkle to withdraw it and have County Comptroller Connie Kravitz recalculate some of the numbers.

Leave it to John Fritchey to keep ‘em honest.

2 thoughts on “Cook County Cacophony

  1. First, next time we know who to vote for!!!!!!!!!!!
    Second, if they are not union than lower it goes…
    And third, they are PUBLIC SERVENTS right, they should not be demanding anything, my wife has lost 20% income and bonuses in the last 2 years, but happy to be employed!!!!!!!!
    Reality check…

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

