The 4th estate called.

And I answered, although I’m not getting paid.

My blogging will be on hold for bit since I’ll be covering the civil trial of Karolina Obrycka vs. The City of Chicago and Anthony Abbate, Jr., hopefully for a local online site Gaper’s Block.

For those of you unfamiliar with the case, back in February 2007, Obrycka was a tending bar, and believed that Abbate was over-served so she cut him off. Instead of realizing that she was correct, he gave her quite the beat down. Horrible, considering Obrycka maybe weighs 120lbs and Abbate is what Central Casting would send on a casting call for dumb, lummox Chicago cop. I’m sure you know the type.

Oh, and the best part? The entire beating was caught on tape.

Abbate was tried, convicted (um, only probation–welcome to Chicago!) and lost his job, but he still gets to keep his pension (again, the Chicago way. Google Jon Burge for more fun tales!). The trial I’ll be covering is Obrycka’s suit against the city. Money doesn’t appear to be the great motivator here since she’s only asking for a cool mil, but what appears to be at stake here is the CPD’s infamous Code of Silence, and how this code hampered the police report. Should be interesting.

I may drop little tidbits on here during the next couple weeks if I find something interesting during my stint in the Federal Courts Building, or whatever else tickles my fancy.

Until then, stay tuned to Gaper’s Block and Twitter. Thanks!

5 thoughts on “The 4th estate called.

  1. Good luck, and drop all the tidbits you can! I will say that not all Chicago cops are less than on-the-level – but that type are few and VERY far between, sadly enough.
    By the by, did ya hear that the Windy City topped 400 shooting homicides as of 10/01/12? Ah, to be in Chicago, now that World War 2 is here……

    • Oh I’m sure. I heard that during the depositions, the cops would show up with their guns since they were ‘on duty.’ However, it was proven to be an intimidation tactic and the officers/detectives had to check their guns with their CO’s. Very typical behavior.
      We’ll see how it goes.

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

