All Is Right With the World Again

Really, Jules? How can you say this–especially after you experienced a quick & painful hiccup in your non-existent career yesterday?

iggy_pop_and_the_stooges-hollywood_palladium_ACY6879

Well, here’s why.

From Rolling Stone.

Iggy Pop and the Stooges Ready New Album for April Release

‘Ready to Die’ features guitarist James Williamson, drummer Scott Asheton

Now, this makes me smile.

See, my three readers, 2013 was starting to look like yet another shitty year for McCrabass until I heard this news. I saw Iggy a long time ago in LA and it was quite the show–he was loud, crude-as-fuck and just plain out of control. It was one of the best times I’ve ever experienced standing up. I mean, I almost tossed my granny knickers at him, but was afraid he’d put them on and they’d be too big. He’s alluring in an ugly-sexy kinda way–if that makes any sense.

So, when I heard my favorite skanky, blue-eyed boy & the Stooges were releasing an album–some 40 years after the last one with James Williamson and Scott Asheton–I did a slow nod and muttered to my empty living room “Niiiice.” Yeah, very un-Iggy-esque but I gave up heroin before I even started and my leathers are being repaired.

IggyPopStooges

Iggy Pop and the Stooges are ready with a new record, Ready to Die, which will mark the first time Pop has worked with guitarist James Williamson and drummer Scott Asheton on a full album since their 1973 classic Raw Power. As he’s done since the Stooges’ 2003 reunion, Mike Watt will fill in for the late Ron Asheton on bass. It’ll be Iggy and the Stooges’ first album since 2007′s The Weirdness, which was the last to feature Ron Asheton. Ready to Die is due April 30th on Fat Possum Records.

I don’t like to wish my life away, but April 30th can’t come soon enough. That’s kind of sad–I’m sliding down Crap Mountain again and I’m looking forward to an album release like I’m some sort of love-struck teenie bopper.

I need a do-over.

 

 

14 thoughts on “All Is Right With the World Again

  1. Maybe Iggy’s Stooge reunion album will jumpstart your career as a music journalist, Jules? Will a tour follow the record’s release? Maybe you could be the tour’s reporter and declare that your slide down crap mountain brought you straight to Iggy. He’d probably like that idea!

  2. Jules,
    Iggy has a spot reserved in my music mind.
    In contrast, I walked into the living room a year or two ago and my wife was watching American Idol (A show I despise). Iggy was on the show as a guest artist! Talk about dogs living with cats! It was absolutely hilarious watching him on stage without a shirt snarling and and gesturing as the audience and the judges and anyone in camera range recoiled. One of my favorite television moments…
    Red

  3. There is something intriguing about the guy. He looks like a bundle of sticks that’s been dunked in piss and vinegar and somehow brought to life. I don’t love his music but it’s hard not to be aware of Iggy Pop. Hopefully the new album will be worth your wait!

  4. Ain’t nthing at all wrong with using music for inspiration. I don’t know how I’d get through the day without the constant soundtrack in my head. And looking forward to new things from bands you miss from way back when is always a thrill.
    In the recent path I got to see The Cars and New York Dolls when tehy got back together. Good- no, Great stuuf.

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

