Rut City, Population: Me

I’m fried. Burned out. Toast. Beat to a pulp. Dead behind the eyes. Numb.

And I haven’t done anything physically taxing. It doesn’t make sense.

I’m suffering from knowing that I have no purpose, nothing to offer and nothing to show for my roughly four decades on this rock.

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: Being unemployed blows fucking donk.

It has zapped my energy, my will to create as well as my will to be out among the living. Sure, teeny, tiny freelance gigs trickle in from time to time, but that ain’t enough to put the thoughts of tri-state crime sprees out of my noggin. I listen to my friends bitch, whine and moan about their jobs, and I have to turn off all of my impulses to fucking throttle them with my she-woman strength.

There are times when I feel like this character from Game of Thrones, is hiding in the  surprisingly under-utilized section of my soul–she’s a loyal, badass who will fuck you up if you cross her.

Brienne of Tarth (courtesy of pandawhale.com)

Brienne of Tarth (courtesy of pandawhale.com)

A bit maudlin, I know, but I’m allowed. I still scroll through shitloads of job leads every day. Some I apply to, others get trashed.

Then, there are those job leads that cause me to utter aloud WHAT THE ENTIRE FUCK??

Don’t believe me? Here, check out this gem from a Houston all news-all the time-radio station.

Enjoy.

jobdescription

The actual requirements for the job–news editor/managing editor–were much shorter, see. And, they were typical news editor/ME duties like solid news judgment, assignment desk duties, AP Style knowledge, etc. When I read this list of “requirements” my first thought was, “Huh, yeaaaahhh…aren’t these requirements for being a well-adjusted adult?”

Not so fast.

So, as the news editor/ME, I wouldn’t be allowed to do my job–which entails being direct, sometimes demanding and expecting professionalism at all costs–but I’m not really allowed to express what I want for fear of hurting feelings or putting someone off.

I did send them a resume/cover letter combo platter and here’s a snippet of what I wrote, but nicer.

I’m a seasoned professional who is capable of working with others under stressful situations, and I expect that out of my colleagues as well. I’m tough, but fair because I realize that the news business is not always so. As for ‘evolving self-awareness’ — if you can explain what that is exactly, you’ll be able to hire whomever you choose.”

Of course, they called me.

Turns out, they have no clue about anything, and want tons of experience for roughly 9 bucks/hour and no (surprise!) relocation expenses paid even though this was advertised on a NATIONAL journo jobs website. A friend pointed out to me that the previous news editor/ME probably either got fired, or quit because he/she was doing their job, and not playing wet nurse to a bunch of fucking over-sensitive, pants-wetting, maladjusted dipshits.

Yeaaah … I’m gonna have to give you a big, fat NO.

The bigger picture here is this is what I am (and the millions of other US citizens who are unemployed) up against: These wish lists of skills put together by completely clueless hiring managers and HR departments who don’t know what they hell they’re talking about. I was recently asked to take geometry/algebra test for an editing job.

Yep, I shit you not.

I said no, then told the hiring manager that if I was going to be eliminated from consideration, is should be on a level playing field. I told her that testing me on something I haven’t done in almost 30 years is grossly unfair. She agreed and I didn’t have to take the test. I interviewed, and we’ll see if I get a call back.

Back to Houston, care to wager that they have an incredibly high turnover rate?

PS–I’ll be in NYC next week, so I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say. So, watch this space.

8 thoughts on “Rut City, Population: Me

  1. I’m a bit late to this entry. I’m 58 and have been unemployed since July of 2008. Unemployment sucks big time. When I hear people bitching about the unemployed getting handouts or any other shit they sling, I want to open up a can of whoop ass on them. They have no clue. I’m disgusted with most of everything.
    I’m just hoping to hold on until I can get to my IRA and collect my husband’s SS when I hit 60.
    We are so fucked in this country.

  2. Sweetie, I’ve been on the shelf since Jan of 2002. My major accomplishments are to mow and trim grass, and shovel snow. And listen to all the little adventures all the other bloggers tell me about, without screaming at them “I MOWED THE ENTIRE CHURCH YARD WITH A FRIGGIN’ MIGRAINE!!!”.
    And people wonder why I disappeared for the last 6 weeks or so. 8O
    I’d wish you good luck, but my luck bottle sprung a leak about 13 years ago. So I’ll just say, feel free to unload. You may be bitching, but you’re FUN when you’re bitching! :D
    (Haven’t missed me so much now, eh? ;) )

  3. This is exactly right:
    The bigger picture here is this is what I am (and the millions of other US citizens who are unemployed) up against: These wish lists of skills put together by completely clueless hiring managers and HR departments who don’t know what they hell they’re talking about. i

    In my field, the number of mistakes these people make in their interviewing/hiring/managing is evident from the high turnover rate. They don’t know what they’re doing or what they want, and the entire industry suffers for it. As for me, I get passed by because I’m an old experienced fart who intimidates them.

  4. Brienne and Jamie are like Ving Rhames and Bruce WIllis’s characters in ‘Pulp Fiction’: two diametrically opposed sides, mortal enemies now forced to defend and care for one another.
    Yup, unemployment sucks. Being “overqualified” sucks the most.

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

