Fat-Free Clothing

Over the past week or so, I’ve noticed a great deal of pearl-clutching and knickers getting all twisted over what Mike Jeffries, the CEO of Abercrombie & Fitch has said about his brand.

A&F CEO Mike Jeffries

A&F CEO Mike Jeffries

Here’s a sampling of his choady bon mots:

“In every school there are the cool and popular kids, and then there are the not-so-cool kids,” he told the site. “Candidly, we go after the cool kids. We go after the attractive all-American kid with a great attitude and a lot of friends. A lot of people don’t belong [in our clothes], and they can’t belong. Are we exclusionary? Absolutely. Those companies that are in trouble are trying to target everybody: young, old, fat, skinny. But then you become totally vanilla. You don’t alienate anybody, but you don’t excite anybody, either,” he said.”

People on the Internets and on the tee vee are awfully hot about this and I’m not quite sure why. Yes, he’s a douchebag, that’s easy to see.

But the rest–meh. So? Who cares? So, he wants “hot” people to wear his clothing, and he offended chunky folks in the same statement.

Yeaaaah…I’m still on “So? Who cares?”

Look folks, there are plenty of other clothing options out there to choose from.

Tons.

I don’t see what the big deal is about wearing a brand that NO ONE over the age of 28 should wear. Seriously–if you’re still wearing A&F clothing over that age it proves you’re trying waaaaay too hard, paying waaaaay too much for poorly made rags and you’re clearly lacking in the imagination department.

Also, it’s his company, he can do with it what he wishes. If he wants to alienate a large (and steadily growing) segment of the population, then, that’s all on him. More power to him.

What’s really sad is that folks are offended by the words of businessman who appears to have the emotional intellect of a pre-moisty, pimply high schooler who probably drives a rape van, and who won’t answer the phone unless he’s wearing makeup.

Apparently, he apologized–sort of.

Aaand where am I again? Oh right, holding steady at “So? Who cares?”

Seriously, folks, y’all can find something better to be upset about. If you don’t, send me a message and I’ll give you some ideas.

NEXT!

9 thoughts on “Fat-Free Clothing

  1. Personally, I think a good old-fashioned Amish-style shunning of both idiot-boy and his company would be a fitting punishment. Though, you know, I could swear I’ve seen more than a few A&F logos on shirts in poverty-stricken African crowd shots ……

  2. I’m just laughing because this picture looks like he just had a chemical skin peel and has had some bad plastic surgery. The only time I have ever purchased A&F clothing was second-hand, and that clearly makes me not eligible to wear it. lol

  3. He probably just shot his mouth off about this simply to create a stir and generate free advertising. What I find remarkable is that this guy is almost 70 years old. He was born in 1944. It seems to me that he’s had work done and he does take his obsession with youth and beauty rather personally.

  4. Over the age of 28?? I would say no one over the age of 22! Like that’s a big diff, but seriously, by your early twenties, by the time most people have graduated college, you should be smart enough to not buy into their lame marketing schemes

  5. FRankly, I get so weary and bored with advertising froth that I hate ALL stores. I either make my own clothing or buy it at Goodwill more often than not. I’m anti-fashion, some would say…I like comfort and practicality and find neither in the silly assed trend-wear at places like A&E. And there are much better things to clutch pearls and knot knickers over.

    Tho’….(gee I must be recovering terminal muscle burn) the very phrase ‘knot knickers’ makes me think of interesting kink….

    • Syrbal, you stopped just when you (or at least me) was getting warmed up.

      As for A&F, now that I did some research, I think the reason he got in trouble was for saying stoopid shit like, “Don’t donate your A&F duds to homeless shelters because seeing bums A&F-dressed is bad for the brand, and therefore bad for the cool kids he courts. That’s choady offensive, too.

      • Oh, good gods! What a complete asshat! What is next, does he think he can pull an Adobe…and virtually “rent” his clothing to only pretty people to be sure folks with wrinkles and an ass preparing to droop are not seen in his duds?

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

