Icks-Nay Acebook-Fay

Trying to quell the Facebook voices in me noggin.

It’s been two days since I’ve dumped Facebook and two days since I moved over to WordPress from Blogger. I’m still in the process of setting this blog up and getting the old blog over this-a-way, so please be patient. Balancing Twit will soon be incorporated into McCrabass. I’ll still focus on Bikram yoga, but I’ll add a few new tidbits as I see fit.

I loved Facebook. I loved the possibilities of Facebook. I loved the whole community feel. However, a few things have transpired on Facebook in the past few months that made me start to loathe it, and more importantly, loathe myself. Those who know me are well aware that I’m not into self-loathing. Self-deprecating humor, yes. Of course. But self-loathing? Not my M.O. It’s destructive.  What happened on the 4th of July was the straw that broke the camel’s back, and I was starting to hate myself. Hey, I’m unemployed with very few possibilities on the horizon–I don’t need to be brought down by a part of social media I used to find enjoyable. It’s just not worth it.

My close friends know what happened, as for the rest of you, well it’s not that important. At first, a few friends were concerned with how folks would be able to contact me without Facebook. Easy, is my response. If they’re my true friends, they’ll find me. It’s not that tough. More importantly, if they’ve been paying attention and want to continue with a friendship, they’ll know what to do.

I’m always around for my pals and they know that.

Now, back to making this blog all pretty n’ stuff. Hope you enjoy it and I promise, McCrabass will be back in action once I get settled in these new digs.

Until then, don’t shit where you eat.

20 thoughts on “Icks-Nay Acebook-Fay

  1. ah ha! i found you! you can’t leave me! i need your irreverent, witty posts like i need a coca cola…it’s bad for me, it makes my butt big, but it’s instant happiness. yeah. that’s it.

    • ahhh…guilt-away. This WASP doesn’t respond too well to the whole guilt-trip thang. But I do hope you’ll subscribe to this here rippin’ good yarn just in case I decide to dump FB for-eh-vah.

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

