And now, a few words about yoga snobs

I’ve touched on this subject briefly in the past, but a few instances happened in the last month or so that warrant mentioning it again: There is nothing worse than a yoga snob.

Yoga snobs are the antithesis of yoga, and from what I can tell, this snobbery is uniquely American.

Gee–what a surprise.

Americans are some of the biggest snobs around. This country is filled with wine snobs (get over yourselves), food snobs (eat shit–it’s food not the Second Coming), label snobs (it’s all made in China anyway, hypocrites), education snobs (you know how hard it is to flunk out of Harvard?), and car snobs (“you are what you drive” should’ve died with the Reagan presidency). I know there are many more snobbery-induced items, but these are the ones that stand out the most to me. You get the idea I’m sure.

Recently, I’ve encountered quite a few yoga snobs. As soon as I mention that I practice Bikram, I get the gamut: “Oh that’s such shit. It’s not even yoga. It’s not pure. Bikram’s an asshole. It’s gross. It’s disgusting…. blah blah blah…yadda yadda yadda.” The BEST is, “Well, if you tried Ashtanga/Vinyasa/Hatha/Kundalini/Fuckme/whatever you’d hate Bikram so much.”

Really? I strike you as the type of person who would REALLY hate something as peaceful as Bikram SO MUCH if I gave another type of yoga a shot? Sorry, I save my hate for the assholes who are trying to take over this country and piss on everyone else in the meantime.

These Bikram haters are so tiresome. It’s boring to hear, and such a huge waste of breath and thought. It’s at the point where I just smile and politely tune them out. It’s not worth trying to explain why I like Bikram because every reason I give is shot down and dismissed as ignorant. As these hater-rants spew forth, I think of pleasant, wonderful things like Ba Le sammiches, owlettes and Steve Coogan. Then, if they’re still pissing on Bikram, I take inventory of all the “Om” tats on their body. It’s easier to think these happy thoughts than listen to some Snooty McHolierThanThou vehemently chastise a yoga practice they probably know very little about. What kills me is none of these folks have the patience, and perhaps the maturity, to ask why I chose Bikram. I guess it’s easier to bitch, whine and moan about it than, oh, I dunno LISTEN to someone else’s reasons for a change?

I’ve tried them all and Bikram works best for me. It’s my thang–see how this works? Here’s the rub: What may work for you, may not work for others. Yeah, I know, it sucks to hear that the world doesn’t revolve around you and your chosen yoga practice, but that’s one more thing you can “dialogue” with your guru about. Make it second on your list–right after discussing which Sanskrit name suits you best.

What surprises me is that allll of these so-called devoted yogis and yoginis are missing the point: There is an appropriate yoga practice for every body. No one practice is better than another, just like no one god is better than another. Whatever works for you should be their philosophy too. Differences should be appreciated and celebrated…isn’t that what yoga is all about?

Perhaps that ‘the world doesn’t revolve around you & your yoga practice’ memo should be sent out again.

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

