Sarcasm IS wit

I love this post. Not because she gets the whole sarcasm thing, but the quotations she includes are classic. Anyone with a sense of humor should memorize a few, if not all of them. It’s always nice to read/hear a fellow wit quash the whole ‘sarcasm is the lowest form of wit’ thought. It takes intelligence and wit to be sarcastic.
Hope you enjoy this post as much as I did.

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Striking up conversation with random people is something I love to do especially when I am running errands. It makes a boring trip to the store much more pleasurable. Sometimes I throw in a bit of humor to add levity to an otherwise mundane situation. I think it surprises some folks so much, that it renders them dumbfounded.  While staring at the shopper/salesperson/bagger with a silly smile on my face, I wait for a reaction.

I have come up with an excuse for their blank dull stare after my feeble attempts to make someone smile. I just assume that they don’t speak English. If they respond by sighing while  giving me an eye roll, that’s when I want to channel Foghorn Leghorn. He’d say, “That’s a joke son. Now look at me when I’m talkin’ to yah.”

Foghorn_Leghorn

 

Image from Wikimedia Commons

Sarcasm is a sort of humor that is…

View original post 645 more words

7 thoughts on “Sarcasm IS wit

  1. Hey this guy is really good with words. I never heard of him but he should be famous.

    Mark Twain:

    “I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.”

  2. Not sure I’ve ever heard of him, but he does seem to have a way with words. He should be famous.

    Mark Twain:

    “I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.”

  3. Thanks so much for the reblog and the nice comment! Life would be insanely hard if I couldn’t rely on my sense of humor. Sarcasm is second nature to me I am afraid to say!

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

