The Daily Retro

Hmmm… what is it about this book that makes it creepy by today’s standards?

1) That Cheryl Tiegs was once a shill for some sort of NAMBLA-esque how-to book?

2) That this book is better than the Bible?

3) That I actually owned a copy of this book once upon a time?

4) That Ellen Peck was either a big, giant perv OR a cougar waaay before it was cool?

5) That when I look at this image, “Seasons in the Sun” by Terry Jacks pollutes my internal safe place, and I … can’t … make …. it …. stop?

6) That the word “groovy” will never go out of style, ever?

7) That looking at this book again has caused me to order every flavor/scent of the old-school Bonnie Bell Lip Smackers and Tickle Deodorant just now?

8) That I actually owned a copy of this book once upon a time?

Discuss.

38 thoughts on “The Daily Retro

  1. Good lord, I hated that Seasons in the Sun song. I remember every time I saw him on commercials for K-Tel compilations where that song was included, I cringed. Even then I knew it was wrong.

    And I remember Bonne Bell Lip Smackers so so well. My favorites were the cola flavor and the strawberry.

  2. So, tell us did you devour this book in one sitting? If we’re talking about utterly awful Seventies era music there’s Gilbert O’Sullivan’s “Alone Again (Naturally)”, Leo Sayer’s “When I Need You”, Debbie Boone’s “You Light Up My Life” to name three of the worst songs ever. I needed to listen to the Ramones just to clean out my ears.

  3. Well, it’s OBVIOUSLY the fact you owned the book, ’cause I’ve always thought Cheryl Tiegs was hot, regardless of what she hawks, I was into cougars before it was cool (I chased ladies from the original series Star Trek, which was on when I was THREE), and I just so happen to LIKE Terry Jacks AND that song!
    (Gee, an old perverted Trekkie who likes bad 70s songs. The picture becomes clearer and clearer….. 😉 )

Push it out, shove it out, waaaaay out...

